Share |

DNV Accreditation - Frequently Asked Questions

What does it mean when we say that we are “accredited”?

  • In order to bill patients who have Medicare and Medicaid, the hospital has to be an approved provider with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

  • To be approved by CMS, the hospital has to be either reviewed by a State Agency under the direction of CMS or it can seek accreditation from one of the CMS approved (deemed) accreditation organizations: DNV Healthcare, Inc., The Joint Commission and the American Osteopathic Association.

  • CMS has strict criteria to be met and the oversight of the deemed accreditation organizations.

  • In addition to accreditation being required for Medicare and Medicaid, there are other insurers that also require the hospital to maintain accreditation.

  • To our patients, accreditation provides you the confidence that the hospital you seek your care from is approved to handle your care needs in accordance to specific requirements.

 Why does it matter to the Medical Center?

The ISO (International Organization for Standardization) standards are the foundation of SEMC’s Quality Management System. These standards ensure we are taking all necessary steps to deliver safe and effective healthcare services to our patients. The NIAHO standards are the vehicle we use to demonstrate that SEMC complies with the Conditions of Participation required by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Why does it matter to our patients?

Meeting the Conditions of Participation is important because those conditions are what the federal government considers important to do, in order to assure safe healthcare.

What are the benefits of accreditation with DNV Healthcare, Inc. (DNVHC)?

  • DNVHC/NIAHO brings a new approach to the accreditation process that will hold the hospital accountable but also drive innovative and best practices to improve our processes

  • DNVHC/NIAHO presents a set of standards that addresses the criteria imposed by CMS as well as the international standard of ISO 9001 quality management system requirements. We are being held accountable to meeting a much higher standard. ISO 9001 is a common standard that is required to be met in other industries to recognize quality products and services provided to consumers. As you may be aware, your employer may very well be required to meet these same requirements.

  • Providing efficient, safe, quality healthcare to those we serve is our primary objective and DNV Healthcare, Inc. serves this objective well through their requirements and the means by which the surveys are conducted.

 What difference will patients and families see at SEMC?

They should not see any difference. They should see ongoing, high quality patient care and St. Elizabeth Medical Center employees that are committed to continual improvement. The Medical Center received ISO certification in 2005, so those processes and standards have been in place for nearly five years. SEMC can now be surveyed by one organization (DNV) for two different sets of standards: for the CMS standards and the NIAHO standards. That makes preparation more consistent and efficient for the hospital.

Will this make the hospital services more expensive?

No, it should actually do the opposite. ISO focuses on efficiency of both clinical and non-clinical processes, so if SEMC can improve efficiency in non-clinical areas as well as patient-care areas, that should make our healthcare delivery system more affordable.

How often will an audit take place?

DNVHC/NIAHO requires annual surveys, instead of once every three years. This will hold us accountable for consistently meeting requirements while streamlining our process to be more effective in meeting the needs of our patients. This will help us improve the quality of services we provide as well as reduce costs.

STEMC ISO 14001DNV Accredited HospitalISO 9001 DNV