NYS Trauma Center

A New York State Designated Area Trauma Center

The St. Elizabeth Medical Center (SEMC) began its New York State Designated Area Trauma Center on Friday, March 9, 1987. Our dedicated staff is committed to caring for the most severely injured patients in the community 24 hours a day. There is an average of 700 patients treated at the Trauma Center per year.

For a trauma victim, the first hours after an injury are when an accident victim’s chance of survival are greatest and is the time when any treatment for injury will be most effective. Prompt, effective medical care becomes a critical priority.

  • Risk of death is higher when severely injured patients are treated at non-trauma centers when compared to trauma designated centers.
  • When minutes count, SEMC’s specially trained trauma team is ready to care for the patient as soon as they arrive.

Our Trauma Center

  • Has 24-hour trauma coverage by general surgeons and other specialty services.
  • Has X-ray and ultrasound equipment in the trauma bay, and CT and MRI equipment is available on site.
  • Provides community awareness and education programs for injury prevention.
  • Hosts an annual Trauma Symposium which is a day-long educational program focused on a multidisciplinary approach for trauma care and awareness.
  • Ensures that the trauma team is educated, trained, and credentialed to comply with best practices and provide superior care to our trauma patients, including Trauma Nursing Core Course (TNCC), Emergency Nursing Pediatric Course (ENPC), and Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS).
  • Utilizes a quality improvement program for a continuous evaluation of the program and searches for opportunities to better serve our community.

Trauma Coordinator
Tracey Barone, RN, BSN

Our Team

Trauma Program

Trauma Program Director 

Leo Sullivan, MD

Trauma Coordinator

Tracey Barone, RN, BSN


Mary Ives, BS


Emergency Medicine Director

Afsar Khan, MD


Nicholas Qandah, DO
Clifford B. Soults, MD

General Surgery

Leo Sullivan, MD
Paul Davidson, MD
Robert J. Wasiczko, MD
Denis Blom, MD 

Orthopedic Surgeons

Jonathan Wigderson, DO
David Patalino, MD
John Sullivan, MD
James Dennison, MD
Andrew Wickline, MD
Anthony Lapinsky, MD

STEMC ISO 14001DNV Accredited HospitalISO 9001 DNV