Share |


Dr. D’Accurzio Named to Healthcare Hall of Distinction

June 5, 2013


Albert D’Accurzio, M.D., Vice President of Medical Affairs at St. Elizabeth Medical Center, was inducted into the Regional Healthcare Hall of Distinction, Class of 2013, on May 7 at Hart’s Hill Inn, Whitesboro. 

Sponsored by the Genesis Group and The Medical Societies of Oneida and Herkimer Counties, the award was presented at the 8th Annual Regional Healthcare Recognition Luncheon. John DeTraglia, MD, who is the Surgical Quality Assurance Director at St. Elizabeth and was inducted into the Healthcare Hall of Distinction in 2012, introduced Dr. D’Accurzio at the event.  Dr. D’Accurzio was selected as a result of his extensive contributions to healthcare and years of service in the Mohawk Valley region.  A plaque naming all members of the Healthcare Hall of Distinction hangs in the lobby of Hart’s Hill Inn.  

Before joining St. Elizabeth as medical director in 1989, Dr.D’Accurzio had a private practice in Internal Medicine in Utica.  A diplomat of the American Board of Internal Medicine, during his career, he has served as president of the St.Elizabeth Medical Staff, president of the Oneida County Medical Society and chairman of the Department of Medicine at St. Elizabeth and St. Luke’s Memorial Hospital.  He played a key role in the Cardiac Services Task Force, which successfully campaigned for state approval of the local cardiac surgery program that became the Mohawk Valley Heart Institute.

Other healthcare professionals who were honored at the event for their commitment to excellence in the workplace and in the community were:

  • Outstanding Physician: Dr. George Tomy
  • Outstanding Nurse: Aurora Wallen
  • Outstanding Healthcare Leadership: Lisa Betrus
  • Outstanding Direct Care Professional: Lisa Everson
  • Outstanding Allied Healthcare Professional: James Walczak
  • Outstanding Volunteer: Sherry DePerno
  • Outstanding Dentist: Stephen Passalacqua, DDS

Burt Danovitz, PhD from the Resource Center for Independent Living, and Richard Wilson from Sitrin Health Care Center, were also inductees to the Healthcare Hall of Distinction.

Pictured left to right are: Raymond Durso, Jr., Genesis Group ExecutiveDirector, Dr. Albert D’Accurzio, Kathleen Dyman,
Executive VicePresident of The Medical Societies, and Dr. John DeTraglia.
STEMC ISO 14001DNV Accredited HospitalISO 9001 DNV