Share |


Midstate Regional Emergency Medical Services Council Celebrates Local Providers and Agencies

June 12, 2014

Midstate Regional Emergency Medical Services Council honored 11 local providers and agencies on Friday, May 23, 2014, at their annual awards ceremony. The event, held at Hart’s Hill Inn., was attended by emergency medical services (EMS) representatives from Oneida, Herkimer and Madison counties.

Awards were presented in the following categories:

  • EMS Youth Provider of the Year – Sean Krun, Frankfort Ambulance – Sean is enrolled in the HCCC / Faxton St. Luke’s Paramedic Program, he participates in the Frankfort Fire Dept “bunk-in” program where he volunteers his time to Frankfort and in turn they provide living quarters for the Paramedic Student. Sean is a very active participant in both Fire and EMS at Frankfort and will continue one more year in this program.
  • Harriet Weber Leadership Award – Bob Sturdevant, Madison County, Midstate REMSCO – Bob is the Madison County EMS Coordinator and has been a member of the Midstate REMSCO for years. He has guided Madison County EMS throughout the years and is the EMS Course Sponsor for Madison County Search and Rescue, has been an active member of the Greater Lenox Ambulance Service and serves on the Board of Directors.
  • ALS Provider of the Year – John Walter, Prospect Ambulance – John has been volunteering with Prospect Ambulance for many years. Even before he was a member, he would volunteer to assist with drills and training sessions. John recently completed the Critical Care Course and provides dedicated EMS to the Prospect Ambulance and Remsen Fire Department.
  • EMS Agency of the Year – Frankfort Fire Department Ambulance – It is difficult to maintain rigid state and regional requirements and balance the needs of the volunteers in rural New York. The Frankfort Fire Department Ambulance “broke the mold” and developed a partnership with the nearby Paramedic Program. This past year, with the involvement of the EMS students and other incentives, the Frankfort Fire Department has become a model for EMS Agencies.
  • Safety and Quality Award – Cazenovia Fire Department – The Cazenovia Fire Department was awarded the Quality and Safety Award based on the commitment it placed on “doing it right”. Never satisfied, this Department constantly looks for new and innovative techniques and procedures. These techniques were tested in October of last year with a complicated and dangerous rescue that was accomplished successfully by the members. Their dedication and hard work, combined with teamwork, assisted in saving the life of a seriously injured young man.
  • EMS Educator of the Year – Leslie Myers – A Faxton St. Luke’s EMS Instructor, Leslie was recognized for keeping it moving. A 25+ year instructor, she assisted FSL develop the first online recertification program in NYS. Leslie has a remarkable 97% pass rate and combines life and textbook in a way that makes her students understand the what and why of EMS. Leslie has trained hundreds of EMS providers and her influence has touched thousands of lives.
  • Communications Specialist of the Year – Ryan Ammann - Dedicated, friendly and driven are the words used to describe Ryan, a Madison County 911 communicator. Ryan is able to keep his cool regardless of the situation and who is involved. Ryan is recognized for going above and beyond in difficult situations. Frequently taking the role as a unsung hero, Ryan has influenced and made the difference in more lives than he knows.
  • EMS RN of Distinction – Stephanie Oldick – Stephanie, a FSL Emergency Department RN, is described as a friendly face and helpful hand when things are tough. Stephanie is quick with a kind word and an open ear to EMS providers and her ED patients. EMS providers are always happy to see Stephanie when delivering patients to the ED.
  • EMS Physician of Excellence – John Rubin – Dr. Rubin is the “EMS Doc”, a gifted physician that takes the time to educate and train EMS Providers of all levels. Dr. Rubin is the FSL EMS Education Medical Director, frequently showing up and assisting in paramedic and EMT skill labs, explaining complicated theories and demonstrating live-saving skills. Dr. Rubin is the go-to-Doc for the Midstate EMS Providers.
  • Commissioner of Health Award – W.J. Taylor – Joe Taylor is a charter Midstate REMSCO member working from day one to improve the pre-hospital care provided in Midstate. Joe a practicing Paramedic and NYS Regional Faculty is known as the Dean of EMS in Midstate. Joe has created an “advanced standing” paramedic program that allows experienced providers the additional education and training to become NYS certified Paramedics.
  • Hart Award – Herkimer County Emergency Services – Deb Hart was a REMSCO member and EMS Advocate in the 80s and 90s. Her tireless dedication and drive earned Deb the respect and admiration of the Regions EMS Providers. This award is given in Deb’s memory each year to a person or group that demonstrates those same characteristics. During 2013, Herkimer County Emergency Services demonstrated to the region and state what emergency services can and does do. An active shooter that was mobile, a house fire with an armed man inside, not one but two “one hundred-year floods” all taxed and pushed Herkimer County Emergency Services. And during each of these events and the hundreds of others Herkimer County maintained and excelled in both these incidents and the day-to-day operations of emergency services. 


Sandra Fentiman                                                                       
Manager, Marketing and Public Relations                        
St. Elizabeth Medical Center                                            
(315) 798-8195                                                                                                                                      


STEMC ISO 14001DNV Accredited HospitalISO 9001 DNV